Barbie Theme Party

Image

Here are some ideas from a Barbie Theme Party that I created for my daughter’s fifth birthday. I was able to find a wooden crate for free, and create this “Barbie Box” photo booth for they party. With a little elbow grease, some pink and white paint, a jig-saw, and some cheap pink fabric (the lining of the box) I was able to make this fun prop for under $30. I am sure you could do something similar with a sturdy cardboard box too. The kids absolutely loved the photo booth. I set it up with a clothing rack full of my daughters play costumes, dresses, and things like pink feather boas which I was able to find at the dollar store.

Image

I found a tutorial on pinterest for making these large tissue paper flowers which was both easy and very inexpensive. They looked so pretty tied onto the backs of all of the chairs. (mypapercrafting flower tutorial)

Another inexpensive and effective decorating idea that I use often is to wrap my existing artwork in gift wrap, to make a focal point in the room that matches the theme of the party. The color scheme for this Barbie themed party was black, white and hot pink. I used a piece of white bristol board to make the letters of my child’s name, and taped them onto the front of the gift-wrapped art.

Image

I had an idea to enlist a few good humored friends to dress up like Barbie. I found long blonde wigs at Party City for around $20 each and asked the girls to come in makeup and a little black dress. It was exciting to the children to have real live Barbies walking around the party, and the Barbies also served as helpers for the party.

Image

Image

With the help of a very understanding husband, we cleared the furniture out of our living room and filled it with my daughter’s Barbie houses. We also set up all her additional Barbies and their cars, apartments and so on… for the children to play with.

Image

The sweet table…

ImageNew Post

Barbie cake that I made using cakes that i baked in various sized steel mixing bowls.  The bodice is made out of pink fondant.
I put one of my daughter’s fancy ballerina tutus around the cake stand to dress it up. A lot of what I used for the party where things that I already had around the house.

I created a keepsake photo print of each child in the Barbie Box, in place of a thank-you card.

Image

For additional fun and atmosphere I created a Barbie Party Playlist of fun music for the children to dance to. You can access my playlist here Barbie Party Playlist or easily create one of your own.

I had so much fun creating this Barbie themed party for my daughter. I hope that this post gives you ideas and the confidence that you do the same for your loved ones. With effort and creativity it doesn’t have to be expensive.

Cheers!

Lisa

