My First Canvas

By Lisa and Mia Arlotti

By Lisa and Mia Arlotti

I was inspired by this great little haunt that my husband and I like to steal away to for our “date nights” to create my own art for my home. In this cool little place called the Park Bar, in downtown Detroit hang huge modern abstract canvas’ that I love so much. I thought it could be a cool project for Hurricane Mia and I. After all, who is more authentically abstract than a child.

Michaels Craft Stores regularly has excellent coupons posted on their website for 40% to 50% off one item. I chose the biggest canvas I could find. It was regularly $120 and with my coupon cutting it by 50% I had myself a 4 by 5 foot canvas to experiment on for sixty dollars. You can’t beat that! (click coupon link to check for coupons in your area)

I filled my muffin tin with acrylic paint, and Mia and I went to work.

Photography by Lisa Arlotti

Photography by Lisa Arlotti

After we finished covering the surface with a multi-colored design. I coated the canvas in clear varnish using a paint roller.

Half way point

Half way point

A few days of reflection later, it was time for the finishing touches. Since I had no real plan of how I wanted the piece to turn out, it just evolved as we went. I knew I wanted something colorful, but that was my only plan.

The Final Product

The Final Product

We are very happy with how it turned out. The fact that it was something my little girl and I did together, makes it even more meaningful to me. I hope this inspires anyone that admires art and wasn’t sure they could, to get your 50% off coupon and give it a shot! If I can do it so can you. If you’ve ever priced out art you know that a piece this large goes for hundreds if not thousands.

